welcome to the CoG network!
Colony of Gamers

Old 09-22-2017, 10:40 AM   #1
DoctorFinger
Editor in Chief

Clone Game Threatens Clones

OK, that headline is a bit harsh, but people who abuse the legal system are one of my pet peeves.

This story revolves around the ultrapopular Player Unknown's Battlegrounds (PUBG) and sandbox shooter Fortnite, which recently announced their own Battle Royale mode. PUBG developer Bluehole seems to think that Fortnite's BR mode may be infringing. Producer Chang Han Kim said this in a Reddit AMA:
Quote:
“The PUBG community has and continues to provide evidence of the many similarities as we contemplate further action.”
I am not a lawyer, but I do know that generalities cannot be patented or copyrighted. Bluehole can be pissed off that other, richer developers are trying to steal their thunder, but that's not something they should be looking to a court to remedy. If, for no other reason, it exposes PUBG to liability, since they're explicitly copying (or at least inspired by) other games, including ARMA and H1Z1. PUBG's lead designer, Brendan Greene, cut his teeth making mods for those games, mods which eventually evolved into the Battle Royale genre PUBG currently rules over.

I dearly hope Bluehole doesn't pursue abusive lawsuits against other entities, mostly because it's wrong, and partly because it could cause irreparable harm to the industry. There isn't a game on the shelves that doesn't borrow mechanics or tropes from predecessors. Once you give IP owners control over such obvious generalities, you kill the game industry. No one but Id's parent Bethesda can make FPS' (since they made Wolfenstein 3D), no one can make fighters other than Capcom. Maybe no one can make an RPG without EA's say so, since the lineage of Ultima traces down to them? It's a hideous precedent to set, in both the short term and the long.

Source - Polygon
DoctorFinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2017, 10:50 AM   #2
Ink Asylum
The cavalry's here!