welcome to the CoG network!
Colony of Gamers
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Old 11-22-2008, 12:50 PM   #1
Zero
Back from E3. Boo.
 
Zero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Fayetteville, Arkansas
Posts: 4,026
Blog Entries: 2
HDMI Audio question

Okay, I bought my new TV today. My question is this: If I plug in my PS3 and 360 in through HDMI, will my TV output Digital through the optical out? Or should I just plug them both in directly to the receiver? I ask that because my receiver only has two optical ports but I have three devices that I need to plug in.
Zero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 01:46 PM   #2
Stmfuller
Actually Graduated
 
Stmfuller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Woodridge IL
Posts: 3,419
plug into your receiver if it can handle hdmi sound.
if you plug through the tv, you'll only get 2 speaker sound.
__________________
Stmfuller
Twitter | Steam: Stmfuller
Stmfuller is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 01:58 PM   #3
bone_matrix
I am become death.
 
bone_matrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stmfuller View Post
if you plug through the tv, you'll only get 2 speaker sound.
Right, out of the tv speakers. He was asking if using the optical out port from the tv going to the receiver if the tv will send the surround sound signal. I don't know the answer, I have all those components to do it, but have never tried.
bone_matrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 07:53 PM   #4
Fubl
Colonist
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Rockville,maryland
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Fubl
Depends on the Tvs hardware also....
__________________
Gametag: Fubl
PSN id: fubl
steam id: chibit693
Goodreads: fubl
origin: lpaluch18t
Twitch.tv/lpaluch18t
Fubl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 08:22 PM   #5
harle
Colonist
 
harle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krispy View Post
Optical is digital. The problem is an optical cable doesn't have the bandwidth for some of the newer HD sound formats (only a concern for Bluray) but for video games it should be fine. That is assuming your TV processes surround sound. Only you can answer that.
Exactly. The only HDTV's I know that process surround sound from the optical port are DLPs and CRTs.
harle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 11:50 PM   #6
KingGorilla
Colonist
 
KingGorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Detroit
Posts: 2,284
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero View Post
Okay, I bought my new TV today. My question is this: If I plug in my PS3 and 360 in through HDMI, will my TV output Digital through the optical out? Or should I just plug them both in directly to the receiver? I ask that because my receiver only has two optical ports but I have three devices that I need to plug in.
I want to make sure I get this correct. You are running your PS3, 360, and your Cable DVR(I assume) as your three HDMI devices? These are plugged into your TV? And then you are using the audio out on the TV to run into a receiver with 2 optical Audio Inputs? Your receiver is not new enough to support HDMI, I take it?

This is a toughy. Your 360 does not have a built in optical out, only the component video dongle has that on it. And without the HDMI you are not going to play any HDCP locked videos(Netflix or HD-DVDs), it will have no effect on the games. What I am wondering is if you notice a discernable loss of quality in terms of interference between going directly to the receiver as opposed to running through the TV first?

But a rather simple option is to just buy a digital audio switch. There is one for 15 bucks on Buy.com
http://www.google.com/products/catal...292#ps-sellers
KingGorilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 02:43 PM   #7
muddi900
Hardcore Dance Punch-Out!
 
muddi900's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Karachi, Pakistan
Posts: 22,520
Blog Entries: 2
If you are handy enough, you can mod you 360 component cable connector to use with the HDMI cable.
__________________
COG Finished Games 2012, Now with 25% more epeen padding!---Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffool View Post
I think it's the collective form of the noun, actually.
"What's an anonymous group of assholes called?"
"An Internet."
Quote:
Originally Posted by pronounconnoun View Post
taint = slippery slope

Got it. Thanks.
muddi900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 02:49 PM   #8
Khrymsyn
uhh... wait, huh?!
 
Khrymsyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,141
Blog Entries: 5
Send a message via AIM to Khrymsyn
Zero, if I'm understanding correctly, I do not believe for most TVs it will work the way you are saying.

I too have an optical out on my TV. What I've found is that for Cable TV (as in, a coax cable goes directly into my TV, no cable box in between), I get 5.1 full surround on the channels/shows that support it. For any of my HDMI inputs, I get 2.0 Stereo sound only. The only way I get surround for my HDMI devices is to ALSO run an optical line from my device (for instance, my 360) directly to the receivier. Luckily my receiver can handle 4 optical inputs. =)
__________________
Xbox Live Tag: Khrymsyn
PSN Gamertag: Khrymsyn
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xerxes View Post
Zombies eat brains. Cannibals eat faces. Fine Young Cannibals drive me crazy.
I ain't 2 proud 2 beg, no, if the lovin's strong and you got it goin' on buy Schar: BSA on Xbox Indies or Desura.
Khrymsyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2008, 10:43 PM   #9
KingGorilla
Colonist
 
KingGorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Detroit
Posts: 2,284
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by muddi900 View Post
If you are handy enough, you can mod you 360 component cable connector to use with the HDMI cable.
Don't all of those require knives? And ruining your component cable?
KingGorilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
// Google Analytics - Must remain as a separate script // External Source Executed