welcome to the CoG network!
Colony of Gamers
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Old 01-01-2012, 08:08 PM   #1
Wolvie
AKA JayBob
 
Wolvie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6,959
Starflight problem...

So I bought Starflight 1 & 2 from GoG. And for some reason I can't start the game up. Dosbox starts, then an old DOS screen pops up and says press any key to continue. Only when I do that, the same message repeats every time I press a key.

Lil help?
__________________
Youtube Channel LINK

Xbox Live: Wolvie 619

PSN: Wolvie_619

Steam: Wolvie619
Wolvie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 08:13 PM   #2
jpublic
Threadslayer
 
jpublic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toontown, Canuckia
Posts: 9,947
Blog Entries: 22
Try using Run as Admin for the shortcuts.

As an alternative, I'd advise going to starflt.com and getting the Amiga download there, as the Amiga versions are the best around.

If you go get a newer version of WinUAE, and use the ROM files and disk images from the download from starflt.com, you can play through the whole game easily.
__________________
"We don't just borrow words; on occasion, English has pursued other languages down alleyways to beat them unconscious and rifle their pockets for new vocabulary." --James D. Nicoll

"The closest they came [to] Platonic ideas is [using] two paper plates for lunch." --Pale Ale
jpublic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2012, 08:36 PM   #3
Wolvie
AKA JayBob
 
Wolvie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6,959
Weird, running as admin allows me to start the game. But when I get to the load screen it says the "game is running but cannot load. Press any key to exit."

Starflight doesn't want me to play it it seems.

Edit: Odd Starflight II seems to run just fine.
__________________
Youtube Channel LINK

Xbox Live: Wolvie 619

PSN: Wolvie_619

Steam: Wolvie619

Last edited by Wolvie; 01-01-2012 at 08:49 PM.
Wolvie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 12:02 PM   #4
biosc1
monoputer
 
biosc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 8,980
Just installed and fired it up without issue.

Windows 7 - 32-bit.

Try uninstalling and re-installing? Any other DOSbox games you can try?
biosc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 05:25 PM   #5
Wolvie
AKA JayBob
 
Wolvie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6,959
Every other DOSbox game I play works perfectly. Even Starflight II.

I did manage to get Starflight I to work, but the picture was jacked up. Weirdness.

I don't know if I really want to stress on it though since I have the two superior versions anyways: Starflight II and Starflight for Genesis cart/ROM.
__________________
Youtube Channel LINK

Xbox Live: Wolvie 619

PSN: Wolvie_619

Steam: Wolvie619
Wolvie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 05:28 PM   #6
biosc1
monoputer
 
biosc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 8,980
Which display did you choose? Hopefully EGA?

ps...I do agree that I loved Starflight for Genesis.
biosc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 05:36 PM   #7
Wolvie
AKA JayBob
 
Wolvie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6,959
Yeah, started in admin mode, selected EGA and it started up fine. Still the game not loading issue persists "press any key to exit" problem persists. It's as if I need a save game to continue, but I can't start on in regular mode. Catch 22.

Edit: Well what'dya know, reinstalling Starflight I & II allowed me to start and save a game in regular mode.
__________________
Youtube Channel LINK

Xbox Live: Wolvie 619

PSN: Wolvie_619

Steam: Wolvie619

Last edited by Wolvie; 01-03-2012 at 05:45 PM.
Wolvie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2012, 07:28 PM   #8
jpublic
Threadslayer
 
jpublic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toontown, Canuckia
Posts: 9,947
Blog Entries: 22
I hope y'all enoy it, but trust me, Amiga version. It's a lot more work since the WinUAE starflt.com distros with their copy is ancient, but looks and sounds far better.

I should see what's up with the various starflight projects around. Lost Colony had potential but was pretty boring, but SF3 claimed to have new drive earlier this year.
__________________
"We don't just borrow words; on occasion, English has pursued other languages down alleyways to beat them unconscious and rifle their pockets for new vocabulary." --James D. Nicoll

"The closest they came [to] Platonic ideas is [using] two paper plates for lunch." --Pale Ale
jpublic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 08:57 PM   #9
Wolvie
AKA JayBob
 
Wolvie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6,959
I honestly think I'll just tool around with this for a but only to get a video game history lesson. Then I'll go back to the ROM version of the Genesis version. I own the cart too... but it just looks fugly on an HDTV.
__________________
Youtube Channel LINK

Xbox Live: Wolvie 619

PSN: Wolvie_619

Steam: Wolvie619
Wolvie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 10:45 AM   #10
jpublic
Threadslayer
 
jpublic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toontown, Canuckia
Posts: 9,947
Blog Entries: 22
Holy crap does it ever. My main problem with the Genesis ver, as awesome as it is, is that one of the main plot points doesn't work on it.


In the Computer versions, if you destroy the Uhlek planet, all the Uhlek go quiet. This doesn't happen in the Genesis version.
__________________
"We don't just borrow words; on occasion, English has pursued other languages down alleyways to beat them unconscious and rifle their pockets for new vocabulary." --James D. Nicoll

"The closest they came [to] Platonic ideas is [using] two paper plates for lunch." --Pale Ale
jpublic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 08:53 PM   #11
Wolvie
AKA JayBob
 
Wolvie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6,959
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpublic View Post
Holy crap does it ever. My main problem with the Genesis ver, as awesome as it is, is that one of the main plot points doesn't work on it.


In the Computer versions, if you destroy the Uhlek planet, all the Uhlek go quiet. This doesn't happen in the Genesis version.
Huh, I never noticed that. Then again I never played through Starflight myself. My brother did.
__________________
Youtube Channel LINK

Xbox Live: Wolvie 619

PSN: Wolvie_619

Steam: Wolvie619
Wolvie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 09:08 PM   #12
jpublic
Threadslayer
 
jpublic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toontown, Canuckia
Posts: 9,947
Blog Entries: 22
Well, the combat is so much easier it's not a major problem, imo.
__________________
"We don't just borrow words; on occasion, English has pursued other languages down alleyways to beat them unconscious and rifle their pockets for new vocabulary." --James D. Nicoll

"The closest they came [to] Platonic ideas is [using] two paper plates for lunch." --Pale Ale
jpublic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
// Google Analytics - Must remain as a separate script // External Source Executed