welcome to the CoG network!
Colony of Gamers
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Old 11-18-2012, 03:31 PM   #1
MagGnome
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Wii U


As of November 18th, 2012, the Wii U is officially in the hands of gamers in many parts of the world. A lot of people here at COG have been eagerly anticipating Nintendo's latest console. This thread will give all of us a place to discuss the system now that it has officially launched.

Nintendo IDs for all Wii U owners on COG can be found here.

Last edited by MagGnome; 11-19-2012 at 03:12 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 03:40 PM   #2
Suave Peanut
don't let's start
 
Suave Peanut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 5,990
Blog Entries: 6
Send a message via AIM to Suave Peanut
Aww yeahhhhhhh
__________________
PSN : Steam : XBL
Suave Peanut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 03:46 PM   #3
MagGnome
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Awesome! Your picture and Zero's really cracked me up.

Enjoy! I probably won't have the system until January at the earliest, but I'm looking forward to reading more impressions from COGers.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 03:48 PM   #4
digitalErich
Mathematical!
 
digitalErich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 5,921
Moving this post over from the other thread...

UI weirdness and update bullshit aside, playing a console game then being able to say "switch to gamepad screen" and continuing to play that same game as I walk up the stairs in my loft feels like the goddamn future.

It's really too bad that in less than a year I'll still be going to MS or Sony for all big third party games.

If MS or Sony sold an optional tablet controller that only allowed for the "play game on gamepad screen" functionality for their next consoles, I'd buy those day one. Early impressions tell me this could be one of those things (like rumble or analogue sticks) where once you get used to it, the absence of it on other systems will feel weird. Granted, it might not be functionality that is relevant to many, or even most, console users.

Edit: for what it's worth, my wifi setup worked on the first try.
__________________
Live: digitalErich / Uplay: digitalerich / PSN: digitalErich / Steam: digitalErich

Last edited by digitalErich; 11-18-2012 at 03:58 PM.
digitalErich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 03:50 PM   #5
Draconis
Colonist
 
Draconis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 372
Thought others might find this interesting. Graphics comparison of Call of Duty 2 black ops between the other systems and the Wii U.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...v=bZO33bCFwks#!


I'm seeing a remarkable difference.
Draconis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 03:55 PM   #6
Wilkz07
blarg?
 
Wilkz07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,545
Blog Entries: 3
can't get it setup on my wi-fi. makes no sense, the wii was easier.
__________________
PSN: Wilkz13
Now Playing: FFXV / R6 Siege / Overwatch
Wilkz07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 04:00 PM   #7
Draconis
Colonist
 
Draconis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 372
Wilkz07

Try this,


If you can't connect your Wii U to the internet via wifi, don't lose all hope. Someone has come up with a solution that works for some people. If you're having trouble, give these steps a shot.

1. Go into connection types, Hit "Manual Configuration"

2. Input your SSID

3. Input the correct security type, this is key.

4. Put your password in properly

5. For ip address "Do not auto obtain".

6. open up cmd in your computer, type in ipconfig

7. Now input that ip address but add 10 to the last number so "192.168.0.1" will be entered as "192.168.0.11"

8. Enter the rest of your info inside such as subnet mask and default gateway exactly as you see it in your ipconfig.

9. Now hit next, hit configure now for your DNS. When asked about DNS hit "Dont auto obtain".

10. For the first server put in 8.8.8.8

11. For the second server put in 8.8.4.4

12. Hit Next, when asked about a proxy hit no proxy

13. Leave mtu as the default

14. it should work, if not check the ip and that it is the internet ip + 10. Good luck
Draconis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 04:19 PM   #8
Rune_74
Colonist
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by Draconis View Post
Thought others might find this interesting. Graphics comparison of Call of Duty 2 black ops between the other systems and the Wii U.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...v=bZO33bCFwks#!


I'm seeing a remarkable difference.
Heh, what about the comparison of mass effect 3?
Rune_74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 04:25 PM   #9
Ten19
Polyhedral Gyre
 
Ten19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,677
Blog Entries: 4
Send a message via AIM to Ten19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Draconis View Post
Thought others might find this interesting. Graphics comparison of Call of Duty 2 black ops between the other systems and the Wii U.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...v=bZO33bCFwks#!


I'm seeing a remarkable difference.
I'm having some trouble believing the PS3, 360 AND PC versions all look identical.
__________________
Blue Slate Lore ~ Game Development
Steam: Ten19 | XBL: tenineteen | PSN: tenineteen | 3DS: 1478-4024-6684
Ten19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 04:30 PM   #10
MagGnome
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ten19 View Post
I'm having some trouble believing the PS3, 360 AND PC versions all look identical.
Yeah, that's just a little unbelievable.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 04:32 PM   #11
biosc1
monoputer
 
biosc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 11,674
Quote:
Originally Posted by Draconis View Post
I'm seeing a remarkable difference.
Initially, I didn't see any difference at all, then I noticed, on the Wii U, that items such as the name tag and shoulder badges were much crisper.
biosc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 04:34 PM   #12
Rune_74
Colonist
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,207
Also acording to all reports most of the ports don't look as good.
Rune_74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 05:01 PM   #13
Philonious
Colonist
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 3,200
So no one has impressions beyond the coolness switching to handheld?
Philonious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 05:01 PM   #14
Wilkz07
blarg?
 
Wilkz07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,545
Blog Entries: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Draconis View Post
Wilkz07

Try this,


If you can't connect your Wii U to the internet via wifi, don't lose all hope. Someone has come up with a solution that works for some people. If you're having trouble, give these steps a shot.

1. Go into connection types, Hit "Manual Configuration"

2. Input your SSID

3. Input the correct security type, this is key.

4. Put your password in properly

5. For ip address "Do not auto obtain".

6. open up cmd in your computer, type in ipconfig

7. Now input that ip address but add 10 to the last number so "192.168.0.1" will be entered as "192.168.0.11"

8. Enter the rest of your info inside such as subnet mask and default gateway exactly as you see it in your ipconfig.

9. Now hit next, hit configure now for your DNS. When asked about DNS hit "Dont auto obtain".

10. For the first server put in 8.8.8.8

11. For the second server put in 8.8.4.4

12. Hit Next, when asked about a proxy hit no proxy

13. Leave mtu as the default

14. it should work, if not check the ip and that it is the internet ip + 10. Good luck
Is this the only way? I looked this up and its google free servers. This can't be the only way to connect online... is it secure if I setup my netflix and e-shop?
__________________
PSN: Wilkz13
Now Playing: FFXV / R6 Siege / Overwatch
Wilkz07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 05:08 PM   #15
Suave Peanut
don't let's start
 
Suave Peanut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 5,990
Blog Entries: 6
Send a message via AIM to Suave Peanut
I can confirm through bandwidth monitoring that the update download is around 1 GB.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wilkz07 View Post
Is this the only way? I looked this up and its google free servers. This can't be the only way to connect online... is it secure if I setup my netflix and e-shop?
Yeah, dude. It's just using different DNS settings. I use Google's DNS for everything.
__________________
PSN : Steam : XBL
Suave Peanut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 05:17 PM   #16
Tayaya
The Origami Killer
 
Tayaya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Posts: 2,259
Send a message via AIM to Tayaya Send a message via Yahoo to Tayaya
Picked up a Basic Set today (Deluxes were even harder to come by). I'm relatively impressed with Nintendo's first foray into the world of HD.... I'm diggin' the hardware and the UI a lot more than I was expecting to, and the Netflix app is really great (probably my favorite of the 3 consoles). It's really awesome to switch playback over to the GamePad too with no interruption whatsoever in the playback.

Don't have any games yet (family member picked up the console this morning... I had no idea). Will pick something up a little later in the week, or from the eShop if I get some USB storage. I like how they didn't tell anyone that 4.5GB of the "8GB" basic set is taken up by system stuff.... there's like no storage on it at all!

Nice of Nintendo to include an HDMI cable even with the basic set. Didn't have to scround for one.

System is a little more dense and heavy than I expected, and really long, but still fits in the same little cubby hole I kept my Wii next to the TV pedastal.

The screen on the GamePad seems nicer to me now than it did at the Wii U Experience... it seems less washed out and the blacks seem better.

The updates are SLOW today - updating the system took almost an hour. I think that's probably a server load issue more than anything else.

So far, I like what I see. Can't wait to see what developers do with the hardware... hopefully my initial reservations from the Wii U Experience will be whisked away in time.
Tayaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 05:18 PM   #17
Kelegacy
All Around Nice Guy
 
Kelegacy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Augusta, Maine
Posts: 10,333
I should have mine tomorrow...and another later this week that I need to get rid of. But still, I won't be able to play until Christmas. That's a lifetime away! Ah well, it's been a LONG time since I looked forward to anything for Christmas, now that I have a job and buy what I want. Yet now that I have children, I can buy them awesome gifts for myself and say they are for them!

I hope I can stay interested in this longer than the Wii. Which really shouldn't be hard.
__________________
PSN: Kelegacy
360: Kelegacy
Steam: Kelegacy
Kelegacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 05:27 PM   #18
Slack3r78
Doctor of Journalism
 
Slack3r78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Columbus, GA
Posts: 3,483
Blog Entries: 2
Send a message via AIM to Slack3r78
lol, wait. Nintendo managed to release a console with broken DHCP support? Impressive.

That said, I'm kind of toying with the idea of picking one up just because.
__________________
Jesus, these are the pigs who run the country. Nixon/southerners/Big Business
Slack3r78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 05:30 PM   #19
Suave Peanut
don't let's start
 
Suave Peanut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 5,990
Blog Entries: 6
Send a message via AIM to Suave Peanut
I need to start adding friends! My handle is SuavePeanut.
__________________
PSN : Steam : XBL
Suave Peanut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 05:31 PM   #20
MagGnome
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suave Peanut View Post
I can confirm through bandwidth monitoring that the update download is around 1 GB.
I wonder where the 5GB reports were coming from? 1GB seems a lot more plausible, and that's what I've been hearing from various sources as well.

It's a big update, for sure.

Edit - I looked for a way to create a Nintendo I.D. online, but I couldn't find one. I did, however, create a Club Nintendo account, which I could have sworn I had in the past but couldn't find any evidence of. I registered a few of my DS games and have now accumulated 170 coins.

Last edited by MagGnome; 11-18-2012 at 05:34 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
// Google Analytics - Must remain as a separate script // External Source Executed