welcome to the CoG network!
Colony of Gamers
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Old 03-23-2012, 08:36 PM   #1
jpublic
Threadslayer
 
jpublic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toontown, Canuckia
Posts: 10,171
Blog Entries: 22
Multiple monitors = higher GPU temp?

So, I decided to use a spare monitor and run my computer with two.

Within seconds of plugging it in, my GPU suddenly jumped up 17 degrees Celsius.

Is this normal?
__________________
"We don't just borrow words; on occasion, English has pursued other languages down alleyways to beat them unconscious and rifle their pockets for new vocabulary." --James D. Nicoll

"The closest they came [to] Platonic ideas is [using] two paper plates for lunch." --Pale Ale
jpublic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 08:42 PM   #2
biosc1
monoputer
 
biosc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 9,029
I wouldn't think so, but handling something else...

Then again, I run 3 monitors and never really noticed a temp increase. Could be you need a driver update/fan control?
biosc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 08:48 PM   #3
Entropy
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,577
I think this answers your question

Last edited by Entropy; 03-23-2012 at 09:00 PM.
Entropy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 09:02 PM   #4
jpublic
Threadslayer
 
jpublic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toontown, Canuckia
Posts: 10,171
Blog Entries: 22
Gee, thanks. Not.

I was hoping someone could verify, because I was getting conflicting stories. It appears it comes around due to having two different monitors with different resolutions.


I gave up on the experiment. As much as I'd like to run a second, the extra power consumption and irritation weren't worth it. Especially since I'm damned if I could get my current LED to match to that older TFT.
__________________
"We don't just borrow words; on occasion, English has pursued other languages down alleyways to beat them unconscious and rifle their pockets for new vocabulary." --James D. Nicoll

"The closest they came [to] Platonic ideas is [using] two paper plates for lunch." --Pale Ale

Last edited by jpublic; 03-23-2012 at 09:47 PM.
jpublic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 07:24 AM   #5
Reverant
Shaven, Not Stirred
 
Reverant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 6,912
Blog Entries: 2
What GPU are you running?
__________________
XBL: The Reverant
Steam: johneldridge
Origin: TheReverantOne
Current Projects
Reverant is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 07:37 AM   #6
Handmade.Mercury
Aplan Architect
 
Handmade.Mercury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan
Posts: 4,539
Send a message via MSN to Handmade.Mercury
Yeah, there are some GPUs that just don't downclock when pushing multiple monitors. My GTX 570 is one of them. Good thing I don't run multiple monitors.
__________________
STEAM: Mercury
PSN: HandmadeMercury
3DS Friend Code: 0533-4910-5573

Follow me on Twitch TV and hitbox.tv!
SystemPunch
Handmade.Mercury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 08:28 AM   #7
bean
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,940
Quote:
Originally Posted by Entropy View Post
I think this answers your question
lame. I was expecting an informative link on that because the subject interested me.
bean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 08:31 AM   #8
Entropy
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,577
You mean like:

NVidia.com
Toms Hardware
Digital Storm Online
Anandtech
EVGA.com
Whirlpool
BoardReader
LegitReviews
NVNEws

Which came up during the Google search I provided. This really isn't much of a mystery....there's a ton of info out there on this problem...countless others are experiencing the same problem and NVidia even addressed it with a driver release.

Last edited by Entropy; 03-24-2012 at 08:38 AM.
Entropy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 08:41 AM   #9
Reverant
Shaven, Not Stirred
 
Reverant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 6,912
Blog Entries: 2
So a guy pulls up to a Mustang Club meeting in his 67 hardtop and starts chatting with a group of enthusiasts.

Guy: My temperature gauge's been rising since I last did some work under the hood. Anyone know why that would happen?

Entropy: You drove past a bookstore on the way here. I don't see why you didn't stop and spend hours reading a variety of sources before coming here to ask that question.
__________________
XBL: The Reverant
Steam: johneldridge
Origin: TheReverantOne
Current Projects
Reverant is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 08:52 AM   #10
Entropy
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,577
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reverant View Post
So a guy pulls up to a Mustang Club meeting in his 67 hardtop and starts chatting with a group of enthusiasts.

Guy: My temperature gauge's been rising since I last did some work under the hood. Anyone know why that would happen?

Entropy: You drove past a bookstore on the way here. I don't see why you didn't stop and spend hours reading a variety of sources before coming here to ask that question.
I don't think what I did was all that unreasonable...all the links I provided were on the first results page from Google...several of them were to NVidia.com and the rest were to enthusiast websites....it doesn't get more informed than that.

Opening a tab and skimming through links is hardly analogous to reading through books at a bookstore down the street...that was a fairly strained analogy. There are forums dedicated to topics like this...ColonyofGamers isn't one of them...he hardly walked up to a bunch of experts.

What's ironic is that my link has provided more insight then anyone else here.

Last edited by Entropy; 03-24-2012 at 09:03 AM.
Entropy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 10:20 AM   #11
Reverant
Shaven, Not Stirred
 
Reverant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 6,912
Blog Entries: 2
I'm just ribbing you. My point is that people come to a small community of like-minded enthusiasts for advice and discussion, not to be sent away to an obvious reference point; veteran geeks know the two most obvious answers are "RTFM" and "Google it." I'm sure jpublic is aware of Google

Anyway, I'm interested to see how the issue pans out.
__________________
XBL: The Reverant
Steam: johneldridge
Origin: TheReverantOne
Current Projects
Reverant is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2012, 05:19 PM   #12
jpublic
Threadslayer
 
jpublic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toontown, Canuckia
Posts: 10,171
Blog Entries: 22
Honestly, Entropy, my first response was a LOT more vitriolic. Nothing pisses people off more than that silliness.

Anyway, I've got a 560Ti, and I think it's an nVidia thing. Upon further investigation and borrowing a monitor off a friend (who has the same one as my main) if you run two identical monitors it doesn't happen. Sometimes. If you're lucky.

Well done, nvidia.
__________________
"We don't just borrow words; on occasion, English has pursued other languages down alleyways to beat them unconscious and rifle their pockets for new vocabulary." --James D. Nicoll

"The closest they came [to] Platonic ideas is [using] two paper plates for lunch." --Pale Ale
jpublic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 09:15 PM   #13
LiquidRain
Documentarian
 
LiquidRain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Osaka, Japan
Posts: 3,035
AMD cards do it too. They can't underclock as far and put the memory into a more idle/low power state since multimonitor requires more bandwidth to push all dem pixels, is my understanding, which leads to more heat and power usage.
__________________
Rainwave.cc - Video game music and Overclocked Remix radio!
LiquidRain is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
// Google Analytics - Must remain as a separate script // External Source Executed