welcome to the CoG network!
Colony of Gamers
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


Go Back   Colony of Gamers > Life Off Colony > PC Hardware & Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-02-2012, 12:57 PM   #1
diablopath
Shower Advocate
 
diablopath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,922
Who here has upgraded their PS3 HDDs?

So, I have my original fat PS3. The MGS4 80GB bundle one, which I believe was the last backwards compatibility PS3 released.

I've hit an unexpected roadblock. I'm entirely out of room on it.

So, who else has done this? Is there anything special I should know about replacing it, or will any standard 2.5" HDD work?

I'm looking at this one, but I'm not sure if I should go a bit bigger. 80GB has lasted me the past four years, though, so I'm not sure I should worry too much about going 300GB - 500GB.
diablopath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 01:13 PM   #2
Vanthar
Colonist
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 607
As you said any 2.5" works to my knowledge. You might want to consider a 7200 rpm (or even an SSD) notebook drive as most people have noted better load speeds/install times.

Just backup your drive to USB and make sure the new drive is formatted to FAT32.

Last edited by Vanthar; 03-02-2012 at 01:16 PM.
Vanthar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 01:21 PM   #3
fitbabits
The Cat Whisperer
 
fitbabits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 10,469
Blog Entries: 2
Me, and it wasn't without issue. Don't forget to back up your current hard drive as well...

The main issue I had was getting the PS3 to recognize the drive. I had to press Start and Select together at the error message (really just informational) and after that it was a breeze. Took me AGES to figure it out, though.
__________________
The Cat Whisperer

Gamertag - fitbabits | PSN ID - fitbabits | Steam - fitbabits
fitbabits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 01:22 PM   #4
fitbabits
The Cat Whisperer
 
fitbabits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 10,469
Blog Entries: 2
Also, if possible, go with a larger capacity drive - they fill up real fast!
__________________
The Cat Whisperer

Gamertag - fitbabits | PSN ID - fitbabits | Steam - fitbabits
fitbabits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 01:23 PM   #5
fitbabits
The Cat Whisperer
 
fitbabits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 10,469
Blog Entries: 2
Finally, go with a 7200 rpm drive.
__________________
The Cat Whisperer

Gamertag - fitbabits | PSN ID - fitbabits | Steam - fitbabits
fitbabits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 01:23 PM   #6
Handmade.Mercury
Aplan Architect
 
Handmade.Mercury's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan
Posts: 4,443
Send a message via MSN to Handmade.Mercury
Yeah, just pop it in, and boot into maintenance mode or whatever it's called. There should be an option to format drive for use by PS3.
__________________
STEAM: Handmade.Mercury
PSN: HandmadeMercury
3DS Friend Code: 0533-4910-5573

Follow me on Twitch TV!
SystemPunch
Handmade.Mercury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 01:26 PM   #7
fitbabits
The Cat Whisperer
 
fitbabits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 10,469
Blog Entries: 2
Last thing - make sure your firmware is up to date!
__________________
The Cat Whisperer

Gamertag - fitbabits | PSN ID - fitbabits | Steam - fitbabits
fitbabits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 01:48 PM   #8
diablopath
Shower Advocate
 
diablopath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,922
Okay, I found a 7200 RPM one, and I think I'll go ahead and order it.

One more question before I do: Like I said, my PS3 is getting up there in age. Other people who have the same model have had typical PS3 issues, and since its far out of warranty, I'd be up shit's creek. My friend suggested that I just go ahead and buy a new slim PS3, as I'd get more peace of mind as well as larger HDD capacity. That strikes me as wasteful when my current PS3 is running smoothly. However, if it were to die, would I have any issues in just simply swapping HDDs? There isn't some bullshit that locks the account on my HDD to my particular system, is there?
diablopath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 02:05 PM   #9
rein
WTF INTERNET?
 
rein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: The Natural State
Posts: 8,149
Blog Entries: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by diablopath View Post
Okay, I found a 7200 RPM one, and I think I'll go ahead and order it.

One more question before I do: Like I said, my PS3 is getting up there in age. Other people who have the same model have had typical PS3 issues, and since its far out of warranty, I'd be up shit's creek. My friend suggested that I just go ahead and buy a new slim PS3, as I'd get more peace of mind as well as larger HDD capacity. That strikes me as wasteful when my current PS3 is running smoothly. However, if it were to die, would I have any issues in just simply swapping HDDs? There isn't some bullshit that locks the account on my HDD to my particular system, is there?
Nothing locks the HDD to a system. You can even pull it out and re-use it in a PC. I threw my old Sony 40 GB HDD in an enclosure and use it for a 360 external since the 360 limits the size for that anyway.
rein is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 02:06 PM   #10
diablopath
Shower Advocate
 
diablopath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,922
Hot. And I found it for $20 cheaper on Amazon. Thanks, guys.
diablopath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 10:34 PM   #11
nabokovfan87
No, not the writer!
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: So Cal
Posts: 1,952
Blog Entries: 2
Send a message via AIM to nabokovfan87 Send a message via MSN to nabokovfan87 Send a message via Yahoo to nabokovfan87 Send a message via Skype™ to nabokovfan87
I swapped mine out. The main thing is you need a sata drive, getting a Sata6G would be a waste.

I have no idea if this is STILL the case, but when I was swapping mine on my 60 gb original PS3 it was required that you had it switched with a Sata150/SataI/Sata1.5gb/s drive.

For the latest slim models I am sure it is any sata drive, but like I said, avoid the whole 6G ones, just a waste for the ps3. I would recommend a WD blue/black or a Seagate.

EDIT: As far as backing your stuff up, you will need to use an external drive connected via usb and use the backup utility. there is no way to do it manually with the drive, on the PS3, once you insert a HDD you MUST format it, "security feature", so doing a bit for bit transfer won't work.

Lastly, and this is very very critical. Be extremely easy on the screws for the drive cage. They are REDICULOUSLY shit, and the heads of the screw will strip without hardly any pressure. When tightening them, it is best to do it by hand not with a tool, that way for later use it is easy to remove them.

Good luck!
__________________
My Gaming Podcast: Damnit Slam Show

Last edited by nabokovfan87; 03-02-2012 at 10:38 PM.
nabokovfan87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 01:54 PM   #12
diablopath
Shower Advocate
 
diablopath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,922
Jesus fucking Christ did anybody else have problems removing those goddamn screw? I got the blue one out but I can't remove the piece of shit from its tray.
diablopath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 02:03 PM   #13
fitbabits
The Cat Whisperer
 
fitbabits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 10,469
Blog Entries: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by diablopath View Post
Jesus fucking Christ did anybody else have problems removing those goddamn screw? I got the blue one out but I can't remove the piece of shit from its tray.
Mine was easy as pie.
__________________
The Cat Whisperer

Gamertag - fitbabits | PSN ID - fitbabits | Steam - fitbabits
fitbabits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 02:24 PM   #14
diablopath
Shower Advocate
 
diablopath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,922
After plenty of rage, I got 3 of them out.

That other one just won't fucking budge though. I don't know what the fuck to do.
diablopath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 02:26 PM   #15
Mike Kelehan
Colonist
 
Mike Kelehan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ellicott City, MD, USA
Posts: 4,843
I upgraded the hard drives for my PS3 and someone else's at launch, replacing a 20GB and a 60GB with 120GB drives. The screws, I seem to remember, were a pain, but everything else went very smoothly. Of course, I did this at launch, purposefully so I wouldn't have to transfer any data.

To get the tough screws out, I used pliers and grabbed them.
Mike Kelehan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 03:17 PM   #16
Tayaya
The Origami Killer
 
Tayaya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Posts: 2,259
Send a message via AIM to Tayaya Send a message via Yahoo to Tayaya
One thing to keep in mind if you go to a PS3 that is not backwards compatible - your PS2 game saves will be automatically deleted on the new PS3 when you restore from your backup.
Tayaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 03:23 PM   #17
jeffbax
Colonist
 
jeffbax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boston
Posts: 1,382
Get a Seagate Momentus XT, which will cache frequently used parts of the OS on the SSD portion while still giving you a ton of space for games.
jeffbax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 03:28 PM   #18
Mike Kelehan
Colonist
 
Mike Kelehan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ellicott City, MD, USA
Posts: 4,843
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tayaya View Post
One thing to keep in mind if you go to a PS3 that is not backwards compatible - your PS2 game saves will be automatically deleted on the new PS3 when you restore from your backup.
Wow, they are NOT fucking around with this whole no-BC thing.
Mike Kelehan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 03:35 PM   #19
Tayaya
The Origami Killer
 
Tayaya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Posts: 2,259
Send a message via AIM to Tayaya Send a message via Yahoo to Tayaya
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Kelehan View Post
Wow, they are NOT fucking around with this whole no-BC thing.
Yeah.... it was nice losing all of my fully-unlocked Pop'n Music and IIDX saves with no warning!

I only have 2 PS2 memory cards, so I was using my PS3 as a repository for game saves to free up those cards for use with some other PS2 games I was working on around the time the MGS4 gunmetal gray console came out. Leaving my launch day system behind for that limited edition turd was the worst mistake I made this console generation.
Tayaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 04:26 PM   #20
diablopath
Shower Advocate
 
diablopath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tayaya View Post
One thing to keep in mind if you go to a PS3 that is not backwards compatible - your PS2 game saves will be automatically deleted on the new PS3 when you restore from your backup.
I didn't even bother backing up. I went and individually carried over the few saves I care about (Mass Effect 2/3, the Uncharted games, Dead Space). I started to do a standard backup and restore, but it was taking so fucking long.

I finally got all the screws out. One of them had to be needle nose pliered out, and I just didn't even put that one back in the hdd cage when I slid it back into the PS3. Fuck that screw.
diablopath is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
// Google Analytics - Must remain as a separate script // External Source Executed